The Susanna Richardson Award honours the APS College of Counselling Psychology's past National Chair for her activities in raising the profile of the College. 

The Susanna Richardson Award promotes the conduct of scientific research relevant to practice issues and the dissemination of research findings to the community of counselling psychologists by acknowledging the overall best student completing an APAC-accredited Master of Counselling Psychology program in an Australian tertiary institution. 


  1. The Susanna Richardson Award is the responsibility of the APS College of Counselling Psychologists, who will also fund the Award.
  2. The APS College of Counselling Psychologists will appoint a selection committee of three people from the National Committee of the College, to be responsible for recommending an appropriate recipient to the Board.
  3. The research supervisor of any candidate is excluded from participating as a member of the selection committee.


Candidates must be full-time or part-time students currently enrolled in an APAC-accredited Master of Counselling Psychology program either at the time of application or in the year preceding the date of their nomination.

Nomination process

  1. The APS College of Counselling Psychologists will call for nominations annually from program coordinators for Master of Counselling Psychology programs conducted throughout Australia. 
  2. Nominations should be submitted to the Chair of the National Committee of the College prior to 31 July each year and include:
    1. the name and address of the nominee;
    2. a copy of the thesis;
    3. the contact details of a proposer and seconder; and
    4. the contact details for two referees, each different from the proposer and seconders.

Selection criteria

  1. Each thesis will be assessed having regard to the following criteria:
    1. originality of contribution to counselling psychology literature - 30%
    2. degree of relevance to the practice of counselling psychology - 30%
    3. cogency of the work - 30%
    4. presentation and adherence to APA referencing requirements - 10%.
  2. Each member of the selection committee will independently rate each entrant on the above criteria and the successful candidate and runner-up will be selected upon the basis of the aggregate of the marks awarded by each member of the selection committee.
  3. In the event that two theses receive the same aggregate of marks, the members of the selection committee will confer and may consider any other aspects in addition to those set out above in order to determine which thesis is best overall.
  4. Following a specific request from a student, members of the selection committee may provide general feedback on a student's thesis, but are not obliged to do so.

Value of the award

Successful candidates for the Susanna Richardson Award will:

  1. have their name published in Congruence (the APS College of Counselling Psychologists' newsletter) and in InPsych
  2. be invited to prepare their thesis as a poster presentation for inclusion in the next APS Annual Conference Program occurring after their receipt of the Award. Costs incurred are at the winners own expense
  3. receive an award of $250 and a certificate

The successful candidate will have the award presented to them at an APS College of Counselling Psychologists event in their home state.

Closing date


Nominations close 31 July.

Please send nominations to:

Susanna Richardson Award
Member Groups Administrator (Colleges)
The Australian Psychological Society
PO Box 38
Flinders Lane VIC 8009

Previous winners


Katherine Barton, University of Queensland


Garth Bennett


Lisa Ritchie


Richard Pascal


Tamra Kamalesh


Not awarded


Davina Morley, Curtin University 


Mae Ling Chong, Latrobe University
Thesis title: Encounters with Theory and Personal Process: Students' Experiences of Studying Process Experiential Emotion-Focused Therapy (PEEFT)


Chantel Nel, Curtin University 


Sarah Crawford, Curtin University 


Suzanne Horan, Latrobe University


Not awarded


Elizabeth Oxnam, Curtin University