Log your accrued CPD hours

APS members get exclusive access to the logging tool to monitor and record accrued CPD hours.

2018 APS Congress

The 2018 APS Congress will be held in Sydney from Thursday 27 to Sunday 30 September 2018


Not a member? Join now

Password reminder

Enter your User ID below and we will send you an email with your password. If you still have trouble logging in please contact us.

Back to

Your password has been emailed to the address we have on file.

Australian Psychology Society This browser is not supported. Please upgrade your browser.

Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Education Award

The Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Education Award recognises outstanding contribution to the education of psychologists over an extended period in Australia.

Eligibility criteria

  1. Candidates need not be members of the Society.
  2. Candidates must have been involved in psychology education in Australia for at least ten (10) years.

Judging criteria

  1. In judging Candidates for the award, the Selection Committee will have regard to:
    1. The Candidate’s level of quality, innovation and service in the area of psychology education in Australia
    2. Whether the Candidate’s contribution to psychology education has been influential beyond the educational institution in which they teach, both within Australia and internationally
    3. The Candidate’s leadership in the area of psychology education in Australia
    4. Whether the Candidate has made an outstanding contribution across a range of educational activities in Australia.
  2. Evidence of such a contribution may be presented from a variety of sources, including several (but not necessarily all) of the following:
    1. Performance as a teacher of psychology
    2. Supervision of psychology student research or professional supervision
    3. Mentoring of psychology students or staff teaching psychology
    4. Development of psychology courses, programs or curriculum
    5. Development of new psychology teaching materials and integration across modes of delivery
    6. Scholarship and contribution to the literature of psychology education
    7. Innovation in the area of psychology education
    8. Contribution to the Society in the development and implementation of its educational objectives.

Value of the Award

  1. Successful Candidates for the Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Education Award will:
    1. Be offered a one year membership of the Society at no cost, provided that the successful Candidate makes an application for membership within three (3) months of receiving notice of their Award. If the successful Candidate is an existing member of the Society, he or she will be offered membership of the Society for the following twelve (12) months at no cost.
    2. Be invited to present a keynote address on any topic related to the teaching of psychology at the APS Congress in the year following receipt of the Award or, in years when no Congress will be held, at another high profile event. Upon acceptance of this invitation, the successful Candidate will be entitled to complimentary:
      1. Domestic economy class travel between their home city and the Congress/event destination
      2. Accommodation (room and breakfast only) for up to three (3) nights at a hotel near the Congress/event venue
      3. Congress/event registration.
    3. Receive a plaque for the Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Education Award.


4.1 Nomination Process

  1. A call for nominations for the Distinguished Contribution to Psychological Education Award will be:
    1. Advertised in InPsych
    2. Provided to the Heads of School or Department of each tertiary institution or higher education provider in Australia.
  2. Candidates must be nominated for the Award by a Member of the Society
  3. Nominations should be submitted in writing and must include:
    1. A nomination form, completed by a Member of the Society, that addresses the items referred to in section 2
    2. A curriculum vitae.
  4. Nominations should be submitted electronically in PDF format to the Administrator, Science and Education, Australian Psychological Society via science@psychology.org.au, by the closing date.
  5. In the event that no nominations are received or a suitable Candidate is not identified, a Committee of the Society may, after the close of nominations, nominate a suitable Candidate for receipt of the Award.

4.2 Selection Process

  1. A Selection Committee will be responsible for:
    1. Determining an appropriate Candidate for receipt of the Award
    2. Recommending an appropriate Candidate to the Board for endorsement.

4.3 Award Presentation

  1. All Candidates (both successful and unsuccessful) will be formally notified in writing before any public announcement is made.
  2. An acknowledgement of the successful Candidate will be published on the APS website and in the Society’s bimonthly bulletin, InPsych,and/or other relevant psychology and education publications in February of the year following the receipt of their Award.
  3. The successful Candidate will be presented with an award plaque at the APS Congress in the year following the receipt of their Award or, in years when no Congress will be held, at another high profile event.

Application and closing date

Nominations for 2018 are now open and close 31 May 2018.

Please email the completed form and all supporting information to:

Any questions?

Ask the Science and Education team: science@psychology.org.au or (03) 8662 3300

Previous winners

2017 Not awarded
2016 Prof Lorelle Burton, University of Southern Queensland
2015 Assoc Prof Shirley Morrissey, Griffith University
2014 Prof John Hattie, University of Melbourne
2013 Prof Simon Crowe, La Trobe University
2012 Assoc Prof Frances Martin, University of Newcastle
2011 Geoff Cumming
2010 Dr Stephen Provost, Southern Cross University
2009 Not awarded 
2008 Assoc Prof Jacquelyn Cranney, University of New South Wales
2007 Dr John Reece, RMIT
2006 Assoc Prof Amanda LeCouteur, University of Adelaide
2005 Dr Nancy Pachana, University of Queensland
2004 Assoc Prof Eleanor Wertheim, La Trobe University
2003 Assoc Prof Gail Huon, University of New South Wales
2002 Not awarded
2001 Dr Prasuna Reddy
2000 Dr Ottmar Lipp (inaugural award)