Log your accrued CPD hours

APS members get exclusive access to the logging tool to monitor and record accrued CPD hours.

2018 APS Congress

The 2018 APS Congress will be held in Sydney from Thursday 27 to Sunday 30 September 2018


Not a member? Join now

Password reminder

Enter your User ID below and we will send you an email with your password. If you still have trouble logging in please contact us.

Back to

Your password has been emailed to the address we have on file.

Australian Psychology Society This browser is not supported. Please upgrade your browser.

President's Award for Distinguished Contribution to Psychology in Australia

This Award recognises distinguished contributions to psychology in Australia by psychologists at later career stage. The contribution must have made a difference to psychology and the Australian community as a whole. The Award may be in any field of psychology.

Eligibility criteria

  1. Nominees need to be Australian citizens or have permanent residency status in Australia.
  2. Nominees are required to be members of the Society.

Judging criteria

  1. In judging nominees for the Award, the Selection Committee will have regard to:
    1. the significance of the nominee’s work in meeting the mission of the Society, namely, 'to represent, promote and advance psychology and psychologists within the context of improving community wellbeing and scientific knowledge.'
    2. the influence the nominee has had on psychologists in Australia.

Value of the Award

The successful nominee for the President's Award will:

  1. Be invited to present a keynote address at the Society’s Congress or other high-profile event in the year following receipt of the Award. On acceptance of this invitation, the successful nominee will receive complimentary:
    1. Domestic economy class travel between their home city and the Congress/event venue
    2. Accommodation (room and breakfast only) for up to four (4) nights at the Congress/event venue
    3. Congress/ event registration
  2. Be invited to submit a version of their keynote address to Australian Psychologist.
  3. Receive a plaque for the President's Award for Distinguished Contribution to Psychology in Australia.
  4. Receive a cheque for $3000.


4.1 Nomination process

  1. The Award will be advertised each year inInPsych, the bi-mothly bulletin of the Australian Psychological Society
  2. The Award will also be promoted where possible through other avenues including sending material to Departments of psychology
  3. Nominees for the Award must be nominated by a member of the Society.
  4. Nominations are to include a letter of nomination addressing the following issues:
    1. The significance of the nominee’s work in meeting the mission of the Society
    2. The influence the nominee has had on psychologists in Australia
  5. Nominations are also to include a curriculum vitae giving details of all publications, community recognition and the names of two referees
  6. If the Selection Committee determines there have been no suitable nominations, then the APS Board of Directors may nominate or invite nominations

4.2 Selection process

  1. A Committee comprising the APS President and three other members of the APS Board of Directors will be responsible for selecting the successful nominee
  2. The APS President will inform the APS Board of the successful nominee
  3. An Award will only be made in any year if there is at least one nomination of sufficient merit

4.3 Award notification

  1. The APS President will inform the successful nominee before any public announcement is made
  2. An acknowledgement of the successful winner will be published in,InPsych, in February of the year following receipt of the Award
  3. The successful winner will be presented with an award plaque at the APS Annual Conference, in the year following receipt of the Award.

Application and closing date

Nominations for 2017 have now closed.

Additional information can be obtained from:

Previous winners

2016 Associate Professor Mike Knowles FAPS,Monash University
2015 Professor Justin Kenardy FAPS,University of Queensland
2014 Professor Trang Thomas AM FAPS, RMIT University
2013 Associate Professor Marie JoyceOAM FAPS,Australian Catholic University
2012 Emeritus Professor John O'GormanFAPS, Griffith University
2011 Professor Trevor WaringAM Hon FAPS, University of Newcastle
2010 Professor Alfred AllanFAPS,Edith Cowan University
2009 Professor Rob Sanson-FisherAO,University of Newcastle
2008 Emeritus Professor Gina Geffen AM FAPS, University of Queensland
2007 Professor Matthew Sanders, University of Queensland
Professor Kim Halford, Griffith University
2006 Not awarded
2005 Professor Margot Prior, University of Melbourne(inaugural award)